Painting…As Usual.

So I’ve started new classes this month; Fundamentals of Animation and Compositing Fundamentals. Yea, I guess it’s really important to get your fundamentals down huh? Who woulda thought? Anyway, I’m excited for Compositing, as it is a Photoshop heavy course, which is what I’m trying to specialize in. Compositing deals with taking multiple elements (sometimes I’m going to have to create my own) and “compositing” them together to create a finished scene. So there are people who do purely environmental paintings, “matte ¬†painting,” and they are usually on a compositing team. I can also use my future skills to create textures and numerous other things. Basically, if it can be painted then it can be used. So that encompasses pretty much everything. Here is an example of a matte painting, done by the enormously talented artist, Dylan Cole.

Image copyrights belong to all respective holders and not me.

I’m not too into animation, so I’m a little worried about that class. I know we are only animating boxes and balls but still, the shit can be harder than you’d think. I was trying to animate a ball to move to a beat last night. Needless to say, it didn’t go over too well. Animation is a art form all itself, that i’m going to have to put some serious time into…as well as modeling in Maya. Damn. My plate is so stacked these days. My diet of pizza, beer and cigarettes isn’t helping me at all either. Oh man, I just remembered my rent is due today.

With all these animation courses and stuff i have to take, I’ve been going back and watching old disney movies and cartoons that I enjoyed when I was younger. I I suggest you all do the same. I watch it for the technical side of things these days, but that doesn’t mean you have to obviously.

Anyway that is all for now. Below you will see a painting I’m currently working on, as well as an update on the Christian Lichtner/Joe Mad piece.

 

 

One.

.Kapil.

Leave a Reply

